1955 Johnson CD-12 Engine Knock

I have been using a 1955 Johnson CD-12 all summer with no issues.

Had it out the other day and after about 5 minutes it started bogging down, and before losing all power, it developed a nasty knock.

I brought it home, and re-started the motor in a barrel of water. It started on the first pull but is running very rough, under powered and still has an awful knock to it.

The coolant water output flow is a strong as it has been all summer, so it is getting water.

One important fact: I may have been running 50:1 in it. I filled up at a dockside pre-mix pump. A fella who was camped beside me said he used that same fuel in his old outboard all the time with no issues. I am afraid that may be my problem. Before I restarted it, I mixed up a batch of 16:1 but that obviously did not help as the damage must already be done.

The question here is, did I ruin my motor? I am not a mechanic, so tearing down and rebuilding this motor will certainly be a challenge for me and I am not sure if the parts would be readily or affordable available.

I was hoping it was something as simple as a fouled plug, but although the plugs do seem a bit gritty and oily (no metal pieces, only carbon) they do not seem like they are bad. Would a non-firing plug make a knock?

The wife is going to have a fit if I tell her I blew the motor on the boat. She was against the purchase to begin with so if I can get out of this with my shirt still on my back it will be a miracle!

Thanks in advance for any advice y'all can lend me!

M

Maxz695

Re: 1955 Johnson CD-12 Engine Knock