Question about hauling small boat out of the water

bpatters69

Cadet
Hello All,

I have a small Avon which weighs about 100 pounds which is powered by a 15hp Mercury motor which is about 100 pounds. I use a Davit to raise and lower the boat out of the water. If I raise\lower the boat out of the water without the engine, there are no problems. However, if I try to raise\lower the boat and the motor, the motor is so heavy in relation to the weight of the boat that the boat tries to go vertical. :eek: Not a good angle to lower the boat intot the water!:facepalm:

So here are my thoughts.... try not to laugh... I am still new at this.

Option 1: buy\build a harness to raise and lower the motor seperately and raise\lower the boat without the motor. This would be kind of a pain as I would have to remove the engine from the boat, lower the boat into the water and then lower the motor to the boat and attach it. The motor attaches easily. It is just a matter of tightening down on some knobs.

Option 2: Reconifgure the attachments somehow. Right now there are 3 connection points. All 3 connections are situated towards the back half of the boat or to the engine side. I think that is the best configuration anyway as the motor as the weight vs the rest rest of the boat.

Option 3: Buy some type of harness that would be placed under the boat to spread out the weight.

Any other ideas or thoughts?

Thanks, Bill

oldjeep

Admiral
Re: Question about hauling small boat out of the water

How about taking the hood off the motor and attaching the lifting eye to it - use that as the rear lift point.

bpatters69

Cadet

How about taking the hood off the motor and attaching the lifting eye to it - use that as the rear lift point.

So that would counter-balance the weight of the motor more vs the weight of the boat?

oldjeep

Admiral

So that would counter-balance the weight of the motor more vs the weight of the boat?