New used boat, which engine?

bonz_d

Vice Admiral
Hey folks, I have another post from last week found here http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=583552 but have come up with a different option and would like opinions.

Situation is this, looking at a couple used Lunds. One in particular is a project boat which is the one I think I've decided upon. I can buy it w/o an engine for a very good price which I'm willing to do.

The question comes down to engines. I have 4 that I've been looking at. The 1st is a 1987-88 40hp Johnson VRO with ptt. The second from what I can tell is a 1990 40hp Merc with ptt. The 3rd is a 1988 35hp Merc nothing fancy and the last is a 1975 Evinrude 50hp, condition is fair to good and the asking price is very low. I talked with the owner and he tells me it runs very well though it is in need of a water pump.

As it is I have zero experience with the Mercury outboards though am quite familiar with the smaller 35hp OMCs. Which way would you all go and why?

NYBo

Admiral
Re: New used boat, which engine?

As long as the boat is rated for at least 40 HP, I would go with one with PT&T. Mercury still makes outboards, so that would be my choice.

Maxum21

Petty Officer 1st Class

where are you finding these motors? ebay, craigslist? locally? ebay sellers have feed back ratings which provides 'some' peace of mind. are you able to see these motors run before hand?

roscoe

Supreme Mariner

Personally, I like the Merc.

A little easier to access the carbs on the Johnson.

Either way, its PTT or no sale. :)

bonz_d

Vice Admiral

All are local, within a couple hrs drive, listed on CL. The 40 Merc is now gone already. Looked at the 40 Johnson and of course not as nice in person. That one was taken off a pontoon for a larger engine. The other 2 I haven't seen yet.

Solittle

Fleet Admiral