Mercury classic 50 overheating

sjoefl01

Seaman
I am completely new to this so be gentle.
I just got this great little boat with the classic 50. I think it is a 1988. The motor is exceptionally clean and corrosion free. The guy I got it from has been fighting a problem with it overheating.
When I crank it up ittakes several seconds to build up a stream. At that time it looks pretty good. When I rev the motor the stream does not seem to increase. I watched a video that made it look like this was not normal. My buddy had changed the pump and housing chasing this problem and felt like it went away for a couple of weeks.