Newbie with too much boat, need anvice on interior walls.

River12

Cadet
IMG_1692.jpgIMG_1686.jpg

Hi, i just purchased this boat and would appreciate any advice on rebuilding the interior. if i write something that doesn't make sense please excuse my ignorance, i am new to all of this.
I want to refinish the walls and floors with wood and im not sure how to start. I started pulling off the wall paper and noticed that both side windows have leaked in the past and the wood was rotten and damp. Now i have most of the rotted wood removed, exposing the fiberglass. Do i need to use marine plywood and then use cedar or bamboo strips over top. Can i apply horizontal wood support strips and just glue the wood planks to it. I would really appreciate some advice, im looking for a wood strip type finish, going vertically up the walls where ever there is existing wall paper. i dont want to use veneer, any ideas?
Much appreciated

DeepBlue2010

Lieutenant
Re: Newbie with too much boat, need anvice on interior walls.

Your finding of rotted wood raises a yellow flag. Before spending money on the interior, make sure you have a solid foundation to build on. I would inspect the deck, stringers, bulkheads and transom before I put any hard earned $$ into the interior. If you don’t know what to look for, hire a marine surveyor and make sure to communicate your expectation very clearly to him/her. Some if these guys’ standards are very different than yours especially if you are an engineer or a perfectionist.

With that said, I believe this is close to what are you looking for
http://www.jamestowndistributors.co...o?pid=51940&familyName=Teak+and+Holly+Plywood

River12

Cadet

Thank you for helping out, finding it quite hard on whether to use furring strips, insulation, screws or glue along with many other factors.