1976 Johnson 25 Stalls when given throttle

IM Buddy8

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1976 Johnson 25 that I just got running recently. It didn't have spark before so I swapped all the electrical with electrical from a power-head with great spark.

It will start right up 1st or second pull with the choke and after it idles for 10-20 seconds (or until a little warm) I can turn the choke off and it will stay idling. (at least 5 minutes it was idling).

If I put it in gear the rpm's drop pretty low and it will stay running but I can't give it any throttle or it dies out.

I'm new to boat motors, so any help would be appreciated. I haven't cleaned the carb yet, but if I do are their any passage ways I should make sure are extra clean?

Here is a picture of my throttle timing in neutral without any throttle. I see the two timing lines but I'm not sure what they are supposed to line up with..
IMG_0619.jpg

Thanks,
Ryan

fireman57

Captain
Re: 1976 Johnson 25 Stalls when given throttle

The first thing to do is give the carbs a good cleaning and I bet your problem goes away. I can't see your picture very well but the cam roller will line up between the two marks on the plate that it rolls on.

IM Buddy8

Seaman Apprentice

The first thing to do is give the carbs a good cleaning and I bet your problem goes away. I can't see your picture very well but the cam roller will line up between the two marks on the plate that it rolls on.

Thanks I'll try to clean the carb out tomorrow AM. That roller wont go to in between those two marks? The picture was taken at no throttle and it's about 1/4 inch to the left of the marks. Is this normal? What gear should the motor be in when setting this?

AlTn

Commander

the throttle butterfly should just begin opening as the throttle cam roller rest between those 2 marks..neutral is fine when setting this

IM Buddy8

Seaman Apprentice

You could also try and set your carb rich/lean settings. It is possible that you are running too lean.