Alpha I Impeller/Winterizing Question

mschmidt33

Petty Officer 2nd Class
2009 Tahoe Q5i 4.3 TKS/Alpha I. This is my first year winterizing and I asked my dad and he said just put 4 gallons of coolant in a bucket, suck it up the outdrive, pull t-stat housing and dump in another gallon?

So, I poured 4 gal into a bucket, hooked the muffs up and started her up. At about 1300rpm, I noticed I was not sucking up the coolant quickly at all, more of a slow suction into the engine. After a minute and my gauge getting close to 200F, I put an end to it flushed with water (too cool down), pulled the 5 petcocks > turned over to blow out > replaced, and then poured 3 gallons down the 6 hoses and t-stat. Thus, I think I'm protected.

Question: Should I be worried about the impeller? I was under the assumption that it would suck the coolant up? We do have a lot of sand in our lake and I run it shallow at times. Thoughts? Only 200hrs on boat.

Mike

nola mike

Vice Admiral
Re: Alpha I Impeller/Winterizing Question

So were you just running a hose from the muffs into a bucket? That won't work, and if that's what you did you may have damaged the impeller. Don't know the specifics of your boat, but you should also make sure that when you drain the block you stick a wire or something into the hole to make sure it isn't blocked. Seems dangerous to have petcocks, don't know how you'd clear them of debris. I'd be especially concerned in a shallow, sandy lake.

scarpint

Petty Officer 3rd Class

I am sure I will be corrected, but the impeller doesn't really suck water more than it simply pushes it. When the lower unit is in the water, the impeller is below the water line so it's housing will fill with water. When the boat is on plane, the angle of th inlets allows water to enter. Once there, the impeller pushes water up into the cooling system.

Glaspar_Fan

Seaman