My gifted boat project

Scooter38401

Cadet
Hi all; I am a newbie to this forum and a newbie to motorboating. Any boats I owned in the past were all sailboats, so when I was gifted with this 1961 Arkansas Traveller with a 1961 40hp Johnson, I began feeling a bit out of my element. The last time this boat was in the water was when my future wife and I were on it in 1981. This boat has always been stored indoors and covered at my father-in-law's pole barn, and has been untouched for the last 31 years. This summer we brought the boat down from upper Michigan to its new home here in Tennessee. After being at the Boat Doctor's for a thorough motor reconditioning for the last 8 weeks, it is now back in our garage. I have begun removing the old registration and hull numbers and cleaning the hull prior to installing the new registration. There is really not much "restoration" needed on this boat per se, but I am determined to keep this fine specimen as original as possible.

I will have questions of this brain trust from time to time and I look forward to hearing your advice. In the meantime, enjoy the photos!

Scott

Attachments

• DSCN0621.jpg
    DSCN0621.jpg
    84.4 KB · Views: 0
  • DSCN0623.jpg
    DSCN0623.jpg
    109.9 KB · Views: 0
  • DSCN0656.jpg
    DSCN0656.jpg
    84.8 KB · Views: 0
  • DSCN0657.jpg
    DSCN0657.jpg
    109.5 KB · Views: 0
  • DSCN0658.jpg
    DSCN0658.jpg
    137.2 KB · Views: 0

Scooter38401

Cadet
Re: My gifted boat project

Here are some more pics:

Attachments

• DSCN0659.jpg
    DSCN0659.jpg
    105.3 KB · Views: 0
  • DSCN0660.jpg
    DSCN0660.jpg
    113.9 KB · Views: 0
  • DSCN0662.jpg
    DSCN0662.jpg
    87.4 KB · Views: 0
  • DSCN0663.jpg
    DSCN0663.jpg
    94.7 KB · Views: 0
  • DSCN0664.jpg
    DSCN0664.jpg
    93.1 KB · Views: 0

sphelps

Supreme Mariner

Wow what a nice looking boat ! I love the way the lapstrake runs back into the sloped down rear gunnel cap .. It gives it a real sleek look !