1988 Rinker 140hp merc... And the journey begins.. help!

1988 Rinker 140hp merc... And the journey begins.. help!

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Well i would first like to introduce myself as i am new to the boating community. So hello everyone and i thank you in the future for your help and advice.

So lets get started... I've been working on toys and engines since i was about 10, which began with taking my dirt bike apart just to see how it worked.... I have automotive and motorcycle experience, but the only maritime vehicles i have worked with have been jet-skis (rebuilt/restored 2-strokes). I decided to venture into the boating world.. I recently moved to Florida and i just have to own a boat, so i traded a rifle i had for a 1988 rinker 16' bowrider. I am very excited to try and restore this boat and have a nice little toy so dont mind my enthusiasm, i cant sleep some nights lol.

What i know about the boat....

Looks like someone attempted red-neck overhaulin on the interior with ply-wood and carpet. The engine is in very rough shape. To give you an idea, he alternator bracket has been replaced with a 10mm open ended wrench. Wire all over the place, hoses disconnected etc. The guy i got it from said it ran and was willing to get it started when i was looking at it but with all the parts that are disconnected i didnt want to start it and risk damaging it. Its a mess. The lower mounting bracket on the gimbal housing is broken off for the trim piston so i will have to replace the gimbal, i know this means pulling the engine. I have a lot of questions about other things non-related to this discussion section so i will save them for there. Here are my relative questions to this section.

My plan is ...

- Remove engine
- Replace Gimbal
- Clean all parts
- Test the Blower, and pumps
- Check for cracks and warn parts/hoses and replace
- Replace all possible gaskets
- Rebuild carburator
- Re-assemble, start
- Win!!