Newbie here

johnp548

Recruit
Hey all

Looking to purchase my very first boat and scouring some CL ads. I really am looking for a cabin cruiser at this time. I am also looking for something fairly cheap say up to about 6k. I came across this boat but am concerned with its age. Is it worth buying a boat in good condition form the 70 to early 80's?

Here is a link to the one I may consider due to its price. Of course I would have it checked out ...

http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/nva/bod/3316612511.html

Thanks!

johnp548

Recruit
Re: Newbie here

In the pictures it looks like a boat to me. About all I can tell though. :D

Seriously, if you are new to boating, get a survey done before you buy, it's money well spent. ESPECIALLY with a boat this old.

Definately would get a survey. But is it even worth going to check out something that is that old, would I be better off sticking with something in the later 80's?

southkogs

Staff member

Definately would get a survey. But is it even worth going to check out something that is that old, would I be better off sticking with something in the later 80's?
Not necessarily - condition is the key when buying used. A well maintained "artifact" can be a much better purchase than something more contemporary that's been beaten to death.

tpenfield

Staff member

All that I can tell from those pictures is that the boat is not a 'chick magnet' . . . just saying. :)

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member

Welcome to iboats.....
A few things I will throw at you....

Where are you going to keep it? Store it during the off season?

Not a good model/idea for a first boat. There are TON's of associated costs of a boat w/o a trailer and you will always be paying top dollar for maintenance! There will be significant maintenance with dual motors not to mention poor mpg.

Here are some suggestions......