What Mercruiser engine is this (PIC INSIDE)?

St8-E

Cadet
I accidently posted this in the outboard forum, also...Idiot new guy!!

I am new to the boating world, and am in the market for one. The attached picture is out of a 1996 Crownline 225 CCR. The owner says it's a "350 Magnum Motor"...obviously there is a difference between the "regular" 5.7L and the 5.7L Magnum as far as HP goes (260 and 300)...I have only seen the picture below and haven't seen the boat in person. I have trolled all over the internet in an attempt to find a picture of a 1996 Mercruiser Magnum motor, but can't find a pic of one inside the vessel. I was told that it will say "Magnum" on the plastic cover on top of the motor. Is there anything else I can look for that differentiates the normal 5.7 and the Magnum? The owner had this boat for 12 years, so I have to think he knows what type of engine he has...but for some reason, this motor looks like a normal 5.7

THANKS!!

IMG_1468.JPG

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: What Mercruiser engine is this (PIC INSIDE)?

If it was a Mag 350, it would say so on that top cover. What is the serial number on the tag on the block above and aft of the starter?

St8-E

Cadet

If it was a Mag 350, it would say so on that top cover. What is the serial number on the tag on the block above and aft of the starter?

I haven't seen it in person yet...I am trying to save myself a trip if there is some "mis" information in the advertisement. The boat itself is immaculate...but I am kind of bummed if this isn't the magnum engine. I am thinking it probably isn't now...

Don,

I accidently posted this exact same thread in the mercury outboard engine, it can be deleted...I am sorry!

vincechig1975

Petty Officer 1st Class