2.5 Mercruiser with water in oil

87Invader

Recruit
Newbie here!Great site.Used this site to learn about my first boat,purchased last Oct,an 87 Invader I/O bowrider with 2.5 and Alpha 1 set up.When I got the boat it ran perfect so I just changed the oil,poured some Seafoam in the tank and had fun.Used the boat for fishing and short trips with the family.Always good oil pressure(30-40),ran cool(140-170)Used about twice a month since Oct.About a month ago,we got alot of rain.Didnt use boat for a month.Boat sat in the rain without mooring cover.Last week,launched it and no start.Weird..it always started right up.My buddy automatically said"points"and I agreed.So...replaced points,wires,cap,condenser,plugs....and then I decided to check the oil before start up...WATER!!Milkshake looking oil!!So drained the oil and replaced with new.Started engine.Fired right up.No noise,no miss,good oil pressure,running cool......Shut it down and checked oil...milky???Oil level not rising on muffs...I really dont believe the block or head is cracked.Never overheated,has good oil pressure,hasnt froze lately.HELP!!What now??

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 2.5 Mercruiser with water in oil

Gonna take a couple of oil changes to rid the rain water from the crankcase. Just watch the full line on dip stick and make sure its not rising.

dollarten

Petty Officer 2nd Class

If the engine cover was over it , it would be hard pressed for that much water to get into the engine If the engine cover was off and the oil filler cap off , that would yield about a couple of table spoons of water in the engine . That amount of water could evaporate through normal usage . I hope the moisture clears up for you but I would plan on the worst as these engines are under a great load at all times and sometimes fail

tpenfield

Staff member

Welcome to iBoats . . .

Next steps are compression test and cylinder leak test . . . maybe even a cooling system pressure test.

Hopefully those things will tell the story.