Plants and manure / biowaste / heavy metal waste

rbh

Fleet Admiral
So to the green thumbs and bio engineers types-
We put manure in garden areas to return the nutriants that go into a crop.

In some areas human waste is spread on the ground and in areas were there is heavy metals (tailing ponds) plants are planted to absorb the heavy material.
My question is, do plants break down the elements that come from bio waste and heavy metals to a point they become inert?

nwcove

Admiral
Re: Plants and manure / biowaste / heavy metal waste

im no engineer, or scientist, but do deal with some nasty waste water. we treat it in aerated lagoons for the first process, then run it through sand filters, then atomize the final effluent via a spray tower and it ends up on the forest floor. according to the "brains" behind the system, its the microbes that live in the soil that do all the work . they break down the complex molecules into basic elements . the vegetation is supposedly only there to hold the soil together and drink the "water".

my understanding is that nothing breaks down a heavy metals as its a basic element. the plants will store the metals in the roots burying them. there are heavy metals everywhere in nature which are no cause for concern unless they are released into the food supply. bio waste is normally pre-treated before being sprayed. one down side is that human bio has been found to contain medical/cemicals that have survived treatment and there are questions of the affect on food supplies.

foodfisher

Captain

Not in my experience. The plants will take up the chemicals with water and store them in their "bodies". Eat any portion of the plant and you will expose yourself to those chemicals. Hence we don't apply liquid termite poisons around fruit trees or vegetable gardens.

Fishing Dude too

Lieutenant Junior Grade

no expert but humans are the only ones that have heavy metals in their poooooo

aspeck

Staff member