2.6l Yamaha 2 stroke starts and idles fine intermittantly chugs and dies

Barrett'sdad

Cadet
Hello my name is Noah this is my first post or thread here. I appreciate a site like this and hope someday to know the answer to someone elses question. I am new to tournament bass fishing and am very excitied about competing more frquently. I picked up an 84 skeeter 175 that looks to be 80 percent restored with the engine and symptoms decribed below. I used to R&R transmissions and worked a deep sea boat out of channel islands harbor for two summers(including dry dock).

I have a yamaha 2.6 liter The original stickers are gone half of a tag is missing. One tag says YAMAHA V-6cyl. 2596cm3, the other says yamaha 22 and gets cut off. That tag also says 6g7 L 3 then cut off. I have to crank the heck out of it to get it to start the first time at the ramp but after that it lights off fine. It runs up great through all rpms until I stop to for a while. Then sometimes and more frequently as the day gets longer the boat will start but only idle. If I crack the throttle it will die. I have tried pumping the fuel ball and pressing the gas and it still wont go. But everytime it ends up suddenly being back to it's old self again and ready to fly. I suspect it is an ignition issue but I am lost for where to start.
Thanks ahead of time for any help on this, I'll do my best to answer any questions I may get thoroughly.

Barrett'sdad

Cadet
Re: 2.6l Yamaha 2 stroke starts and idles fine intermittantly chugs and dies

I found another thread on another site that talks about having this problem with a bad stator. Does this souund right?

99yam40

Fleet Admiral

6G71983-1985220A

This is what I found on the 6G7 you posted. http://continuouswave.com/whaler/reference/yamahaModelGuide.html

Need to find a Service manual for your motor and test peak voltages with proper equipment to see if they meet spec. if you think it is loosing spark