mc-1 outdrive

scottstacy1991

Recruit
i am new to boating and have purchased a 79 sea sprite with 470 merc and mc-1 1.81.1 ratio drive. after first run on water i noticed that it wasnt shifting very well so i took it to the local marine shop where they tell me i need a new shift cable. i tell them to go ahead and replace the cable and upon my next encounter on the water i find that motor is killed when shifting to forward gear and there is no reverse gear at all. i then take it to a different repair shop who tells me that the clutch dawg is bad and needs replaced. shop wants 1300$ to do this. so my question becomes where can i get another lower unit for this drive or possibly just get another drive and if so what will fit? drive has tilt/trim as well

Bondo

Staff member
Re: mc-1 outdrive

i am new to boating and have purchased a 79 sea sprite with 470 merc and mc-1 1.81.1 ratio drive. after first run on water i noticed that it wasnt shifting very well so i took it to the local marine shop where they tell me i need a new shift cable. i tell them to go ahead and replace the cable and upon my next encounter on the water i find that motor is killed when shifting to forward gear and there is no reverse gear at all. i then take it to a different repair shop who tells me that the clutch dawg is bad and needs replaced. shop wants 1300$ to do this. so my question becomes where can i get another lower unit for this drive or possibly just get another drive and if so what will fit? drive has tilt/trim as well

Ayuh,.... Welcome Aboard,...

Ya shoulda brought it back to the 1st shop, so they could have determined where they screwed up....

I don't see the diagnosis of yer 2nd Shop,... 'course, I can't see, what they're seein' either...

You can buy a Brand New, complete replacement outdrive, right here at iboats, for another $100. above their estimate to fix yer's...

scottstacy1991

Recruit