5.0L starts fine on muffs; on water, takes long time to fire; once running, runs well

afurness

Recruit
Hi Guys,

Summary of this long post:
  1. Bought 1994 Sunesta with Merc 5.0L last August
  2. Boat started and ran great rest of 2011
  3. In 2012, engine will turn over easily, but does not fire. Eventually it will fire if I keep a constant full throttle applied.
  4. Had spark plugs, caps, rotor changed, and timing set and same behavior. Only starts when I crank for a while at full throttle.
  5. Once running, boat has no hesitation, accelerates quickly, runs at any speed, idles well, etc.
  6. HELP!

I have an issue that I would like some help in debugging my 1994 Chaparral Sunesta with a Merc 5.0L. I have some experience with basic maintenance of engines and machines, such as changing fluids, spark plugs, thermostats, etc., but not much diagnosis experience when things are "off".

The issue was first experienced earlier this year. I bought the boat last year in August, and it started and ran beautifully all of last year. I winterized the system myself, and changed the oil, filters, thermostat, impeller, lower unit fluid at that time. I always ran with marine sta-bil in the fuel and stored with about 3/4 of a tank and a winter dose of sta-bil.