3.7 Cooling pressure check - dumb question

nwboater45

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Alright I am still a newbie here with my little project. History: 1989 mercruiser, 3.7, 165, closed cooling with alpha 1 drive. I have an overheating problem that I am trying to figure out. The boat on muffs starts up and idles fine. The temp goes up steady to about 180 to 200 and then I shut it off. I have done a compression check and everything looks fine and no water in the oil. So I went to Autozone tonight and borrowed a cooling system pressure tester. Sprayed the connections and connected to the filler. Then pumped it up to 17 pounds and watched the needle steadly go down. I pumped it up some more to check for leaks. Then I heard water coming out of the water inlet. Pumped some more and then heard water flushing back through the power steering cooler.

OK, the dumb question is, did I do this test correctly? I even read the shop manual at http://boatinfo.no/lib/mercruiser/manuals/mercruiser8.html#/246

The motor should not be running, correct? I understand that is another test.

If I did do the test correctly then why is it back flushing? Did I miss a step?

Thanks.

Re: 3.7 Cooling pressure check - dumb question

Here is a flow chart for your engine. It shows the seawater path and antifreeze/coolant path.

The power steering cooler should have seawater. You mention you hear water coming out of the water inlet.... are you referring to where you hook muffs to on the drive?

Attachments

• coolant flow 3.7.jpg
    coolant flow 3.7.jpg
    73.5 KB · Views: 0

Bondo

Staff member