Mercruiser 3.0L Drive lube refill

Status
Not open for further replies.

cugiadatinh

Recruit
Hi all, newbie here just own a boat. My drive lube reservoir is empty after a few hours drive. is it normal? Please show me how to refill it. Thank you so much for all your helps. I want to take it out this weekend. Will it safe to run the boat with the drive lube reservoir (monitor) empty. Thank's again.

fishrdan

Admiral
Re: Mercruiser 3.0L Drive lube refill

The lube monitor going empty is not good, if the gears in the upper unit go without lube, it's going to eat them up and you'll be looking at a very expensive repair.

I would remove the vent plug in the upper unit to see how full the drive is and if it's been run low (use a plastic zip tie as a dip stick if the lube isn't at the hole, it should be), then drain the drive to see if the lube is milky and if water comes out. I think you'll see water and milky oil come out and this needs to be repaired ASAP. If you run the boat with a leaky drive, you could be looking at replacing the drive.

Also look for metal in the drained gear lube, a little extremely fine stuff is normal, but a LOT, or flakes, or chunks is a bad thing.

tpenfield

Staff member

As stated, not normal. There is a problem . . . the thing to do is re-fill the reservoir (you don't really need help in filling it) . . . and see if it continues to go down.

If it does, then look for where it went . . . either in the boat or in the water. Neither is good, but in the boat may actually be cheaper to fix.

Let us know how it goes.

04fxdwgi

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Hi all, newbie here just own a boat. My drive lube reservoir is empty after a few hours drive. is it normal? Please show me how to refill it. Thank you so much for all your helps. I want to take it out this weekend. Will it safe to run the boat with the drive lube reservoir (monitor) empty. Thank's again.