$100 boat. Is it worth it?

petergriffin1

Recruit
Ok,

So Im new to this boat thing. But I know a guy who bought a boat a while back as a project. He's since decided not to go through with it and wants to sell it to me. He said he would sell the boat and trailer to me for $100. Both titles are clear, however am I having trouble with finding out information about the boat itself. Here is what I know.

1966 Lone Star 19' (unknown model) maybe a Westport? (if any one knows what model it is please tell me) It has a fiberglass hull.

The hull seems to be in good shape, however could use some fiberglass work (to the best of knowledge)

My concern is getting it home only to realize it's worthless. I cannot find any information on this particular boat online. Are Lone Star's a good boat? I know Crysler bought the company around that time as far as I can tell. I have attached a photograph of it. Please help any input or advice would be greatly appreciated.

100_1536.jpg

Re: $100 boat. Is it worth it?

nothing that $2000 min and 3-12 months for the average guy couldnt fix and thats not including the power plant or tires for the trailer

Jlawsen

Master Chief Petty Officer

Just about any boat is repairable and worth saving if you like the style and purpose. It looks like you have your work cut out for you with this one but it's probably dooable barring any severe hull damage that can't be seen in the picture.

The trailer should be sand blasted and then evaluated before you go hauling it out in the interstate. It's work but if you don't mind work then no problem.

Be prepared to invest a lot more in it than you anticipate. Budgets are cool but most of us discard them after a while and just go for it. Spending money on boats is kind of like thumping yourself in the forhead. The first time you do it you feel the pain but after about a hundred thousand times it just seems normal.

5150abf

Vice Admiral