Exhaust manifolds and risers, how are they plumbed inside?

ricohman

Lieutenant Commander
Sounds like a dumb question, but I'm an auto mechanic. I've owned my boat for the season and I still don't know exactly how the risers and manifolds are plumbed and how they cool the manifold.
I am curious as I was wondering how a 4.3 could injest water through the exhaust by running reverse rotation. My 2011 4.3TKS backfired through the carb and sputtered to a stop while fogging. Running on muffs.
Where do the water and the exhaust meet? Does the water get pumped to the top and then gravity takes care of the rest?

haulnazz15

Captain
Re: Exhaust manifolds and risers, how are they plumbed inside?

It's just a set of exhaust manifolds with a water jacket around it. The water and exhaust don't "meet" until they exit at the end of the riser tube which dumps into the y-pipe. Reversion occurs when the exhaust flow is low and the momentary inward pulse from an engine with lots of lope in the cam pulls in the water at that point. Also possible when exhaust shutters aren't present and water is forced up the exhaust tube from outside the boat and into the open exhaust ports.

ricohman

Lieutenant Commander

It's just a set of exhaust manifolds with a water jacket around it. The water and exhaust don't "meet" until they exit at the end of the riser tube which dumps into the y-pipe. Reversion occurs when the exhaust flow is low and the momentary inward pulse from an engine with lots of lope in the cam pulls in the water at that point. Also possible when exhaust shutters aren't present and water is forced up the exhaust tube from outside the boat and into the open exhaust ports.

OK. Then the chances if my 4.3 injesting water from a backfire seem pretty slim. But I can see how water could be injested from a run-on situation in the water. But it may take more than a second or two.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus