Trim cylinder fitting leaking, water contamination?

ricohman

Lieutenant Commander
I noticed a small amount of trim oil dripping onto my driveway from the starboard trim cylinder on my 2011 4.3/Alpha one. Has about 18 hours on it.
The leak appears to be coming from the fitting at the end of a long stainless tube that runs to the aft end of the cylinder.
I cracked the line loose and tightened it back up. It didn't seem loose, but as a mechanic I have seen many brake fittings on new vehicles that leaked and needed to be snugged up again.
But brake lines don't live under water.
So, my question is....do I need to change out the trim fluid as this cylinder may be contaminated with water? I'd like to think its under pressure and water might not get in there.
I just filled with new trim fluid after I changed a burst trim line on the inside of the boat.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Trim cylinder fitting leaking, water contamination?

Is the oil milky? If you run it full up and full down a few times and see no milky oil in the reservoir, then you should be ok. You can also put the drive all the way up, block it up so it won't drop, remove the line, and run the pump down and see if any milky oil comes out of the line.
While the line is off, make sure the seat for the hose and cylinder is clean and not cracked.

daydreamer1252

Petty Officer 1st Class

ricohman,

I would be taking it to the dealer as it must still be under warranty...no? You paid LOTS of good money for the boat and drive system and paid handsomely for the warranty coverage.

As far as water contamination goes....I have a hard time imagining how...when the boat is underway there is positive pressure on the hydraulic system....at rest the reservoir tank is above the water line it would seem that it would have "positive" pressure again....

Just my thoughts

spdracr39

Lieutenant Junior Grade