Still need help getting motor to tilt up!

KathyD19

Petty Officer 1st Class
resized_DSCN3813.JPGresized_DSCN3814.JPG

When I bought this the seller said it doesn't tilt. I thought all boat motors tilt up so I was surprised at that, but of course, I'm a newbie so I'm probably wrong! ;) It's a 1956 Johnson Javelin and on the starboard side picture you can see what appears to be notches with a pin but it doesn't move away from the notch closest to the boat. Don't know if it's supposed to but stuck or was never meant to in the first place.

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: Can this motor be tilted up?

Look on the front of the motor, between the stern brackets. You will see the lock/release lever. Latched in the pushed-down position is release, unlatch it and let it come up for locked-down.

While on the subject, you are supposed to run it in the latched down position. Release it to tilt. Now, you are going to ask, what if I hit something? Not to fear, it will automatically unlock and tilt up. That's what that big spring is for on the rear of the swivel bracket. If you don't believe it, lock it down and hunker down and grab hold of the lower unit. Give a mighty yank to the rear, and it will make a god-awful bang and come on up. The bang is the automatic release doing it's thing and is totally harmless.

Now, if the lock-release lever is missing, that is another story. I probably have a couple if you need one.

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner

Without trim and tilt, there is nothing to keep your engine from coming up out of the water when you operate in reverse; the faster the worse it gets. So OEMs installed a break away latch designed to hold the engine in place in reverse and break away when in forward and the lower unit contacts and underwater obstruction. Some engines only latch in reverse so in forward, if you strike an underwater object it reduces the time it takes for the lower unit to clear the obstruction, hence the potential damage to the LU.

Mark

KathyD19