AQ125a Timing

dexterm16

Cadet
I have replaced my timing belt but need to time with a gun. I have never done this before- can anyone please explain to me the process?

rav221

Seaman Apprentice
Re: AQ125a Timing

Here's a link to a video explaining the process.....hope it helps.

http://youtu.be/FZxsp7S7ZhQ

Don't worry about the part about changing the springs in the distributor, you won't have to worry about that.

dexterm16

Cadet

I appreciate all the help RAV221. I am a handy man but had no idea the effects that the timing had on how the engine ran. If was my understanding that if the engine was running it was timed and all the pulleys were properly aligned and if the engine wasn't timed it would not run at all. It is amazing how the position of the distributor changes the idle. thanks again

rav221

Seaman Apprentice

For your AQ125A, I believe your ignition timing is 6 degrees @ idle (around 600-700 rpm) and 32 degrees at 4000 rpm. Double check that with your Spec. manual. I'm not sure what year your engine is.

RogersJetboat454

Commander

Dex,
We're talking about setting the ignition timing, and not setting the cam timing (lining up the pulleys after the timing belt replacement), right?

rav221

Seaman Apprentice

Dex,
We're talking about setting the ignition timing, and not setting the cam timing (lining up the pulleys after the timing belt replacement), right?

The way DEX explained it in a previous thread, he changed the timing belt already. The boat is running and apparently sounds OK at low speed, but he can't get any power. I had explained the importance of checking the ignition timing after a timing belt change. Just trying the obvious/easiest solution first. He was unsure of the process to check/set the timing.

Maybe you have another idea I'm missing. Here's a link to the original thread...

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=572824

RogersJetboat454

Commander