OMC 3.0 Overheating

budman8

Cadet
To All, I'm just a newbie here, tried to search first before posting but could not find anything related to my problem. Bought a boat 3 weeks ago everything was fine the first time we took it out and when it was dock at the marina but 2 days ago we decided to go fishing and after a half hour the boat starts to overheat, light smoke fumes coming out of the vent and the temp shoots to over 225 so we decided to turn it off and cool it down, tried it again after an hour and and it did overheat again and decided to towed it back to the marina. Tried to figure out the water pump on this 4 cyl looks like ford motor, I thought it might be behind the belt pulley next to the alternator but somebody told me it's not there, since we bought this boat used and not the original owner now we are confused and lost and don't have a mannual, somedbody also told me that it might be by the drive assembly since it has an outboard drive, anybody know exactly where the water pump is and what to look for, I disconnected the 5/8" diameter hose the blows air to it and it's not clogged, removed also the thermostat but still overheating, I would like to inspet the water pump but not sure it's location, any help is greatly appreiated.
BTW the motor say's OMC cobra 3.0, 4 cylinder, looks like ford engine. and it is a 1989 bayliner 2145 sunbridge, thanks again

Old Yeller Boater

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: OMC 3.0 Overheating

On my Cobra outdrive, there was a plastic cover at the top of the outdrive held on by a few bolts. Behind that cover was my impeller. I'm assuming yours is the same, but I'm not versed on years/models. That impeller would be circulating water into the motor. You should check to be sure it's in good shape. it's easy to get to, so worth taking a look.

budman8

Cadet

Thanks for your quick reply, do we need to take the boat out of the water or can we service it while it's dock at the marina