Another Cracked Starter Boss - Mercruiser 350

awhucks

Recruit
Good day all! Complete noob here, and very new to boating.

'03 Mercruiser 350 Mag MPI Bravo III - 0M6XXXXX

Outboard starter boss cracked - thumbnail shape up through the counter-bore, right at the beginning of the threads. I would like to build a bracket & try it as an option before having to buy a new block.

Would like some feedback from those that have tried this route.

Thanks in advance.

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Another Cracked Starter Boss - Mercruiser 350

Ayuh,.... Welcome Aboard,.... I've seen it, but ain't tried it,...

awhucks

Recruit

Okay folks, it has been a while but I wanted to post an update to this post. I decided to proceed with the bracket option, mainly because I decided I had absolutely nothing to loose: If this option didn't work, I would need a new block. If I did nothing, I would need a new block. If, however, this option did work... I just wouldn't need a new block as soon - Hah!

Here is a picture of the cracked starter boss. Note that the crack was really only up through the countersink, and did not protrude into the threads.

Cracked Starter Boss
Cracked%20Starter%20Boss_zps6de34e50.jpg

It is a two piece bracket design: One piece that bolts onto the forward end of the starter, and another piece that bolts onto the bell housing.

Bell Housing Bracket
9bc32cff.jpg

I replaced the bolts that held the starter together with m6 threaded rods to allow enough length to bolt on the bracket.

Starter Bracket
e23558be.jpg

Entire Assembly
b42ed25d.jpg

Bell Housing Bracket Installed
3350bfc4.jpg

Starter Bracket Installed
f6cde3fd.jpg

I got everything installed this past weekend, and so far, it works like a dream. Of course from now on, it's one of my pre-operational inspections to put a wrench on all the nuts just to make sure everything is nice & snug.

achris

More fish than mountain goat