4.3 popping thru carb at wot

loie587

Cadet
I have a 97 stingray lx190 Boat ran great all year till this weekend at end of the day on the water started popping or back firing thru carb at wot. I just didnt run it wot and tried to get it to the ramp but as I was almost there it started doing it a little more till it would stall. I started it and it would idle fine but under a load it would stall. It eventually cleaned it self out where I was able to cruise back to the ramp but not at wot. I know at the start of the season I rebuilt the carb, Installed fuel filter, plugs, wires, cap and rotor. I have used the boat allot this year and I am a mechanic at a local car dealership so Im smart when it comes to this. But my ? is that my gut tells me I have a coil breaking down is this possable for these symptoms and is it common. and if not any suggestions are appreciated. My next ? is I have a brand new msd coil for car looks like the same style coil on the boat will these work for marine. I tried looking this up on the internet but I get mixed answers any help is very appreciated Thanks

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner
Re: 4.3 popping thru carb at wot

cross-firing, cracked coil tower, carbon tracks in cap,water in fuel, burnt intake valves, lean fuel delivery.

ENSIGN

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Tulip intake valve,check the compression

Bondo

Staff member

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,.... Start by checkin' the Contents of the fuel filter,....

loie587

Cadet