2001 Evinrude 30hp 4 stroke (aka Suzuki 30) - Carb Leaking Gas and Choke Arm Question

kelwilburn

Recruit
Hey everyone, I've been browsing through this forum for a while now and found many intelligent posts addressing most questions I've had about my Evinrude. I am a novice in mechanical experience, and this project has been the farthest I've ever taken apart an engine.

I have a 2001 Evinrude E30TEL4SIC - tiller steering, electric start, manual trim - that had been running very poorly up until last weekend when I took apart the carbs and cleaned them out with gumout (a local suzuki dealer told me my issue was with dirty carbs. The motor ran like a scalded dog with the only problem being that gas is leaking out of the bottommost carburetor so much so that there is a noticeable slick behind the motor at idle and the engine revs only about 50% with the cowling on (I assume this is due to gas fumes restricting oxygen in the intake and not a sign of a larger problem). When out of the water and I squeeze the fuel line bulb, fuel runs out of the air intake portion of the carb

Last weekend when taking off the float, I bent the pin holding it in place as well as the bracket on the float which the pin slides through. I've tried to straighten them out to look like the float off a working carb and thought that would solve my problem (I assume the float is responsible for holding the fuel inlet needle in place and restricting gas into the carb). This didn't work and gas still leaks when the engine is on or the primer bulb is squeezed.