1991 OMC King Cobra Exhaust Sleeve

Spyder208

Cadet
Getting ready to launch the boat in the water for the summer I found that my King Cobra exhaust sleeve has some weather checking in a few spots, the drive line bellows are just fine, is this something to worry about?? The exhaust sleeve is in no danger of falling off, the weather checks aren't that far away from the end of it anyway, any thoughts on this, thanks for any help, I'm new to the King Cobra. Chev 454

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 1991 OMC King Cobra Exhaust Sleeve

What are you calling an exhaust sleeve? There is nothing on your engine actually known as an exhaust sleeve. If you can, describe where it's located and what it's attached to, that would sure help. A picture would be even better.

Spyder208

Cadet

Its a rubber sleeve attached to the transom mount only, it just slips inside the sterndrive to direct exhaust gasses through it, its below the driveshaft bellows.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Didn't even know OMC used those. <br />Besides, if it fell off completely it wouldn't really hurt anything, so the weather checks aren't a problem.

Spyder208

Cadet

Thanks for the replies, I appreciate the help

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner

The holes you are calling weather checks might just be there on purpose.<br /><br />I bought a new outdrive kit and it included a new drive bellows and a new exhaust bellows. The exhaust bellows has holes in it presumably to allow water drain to out of it etc....so they're there on purpose.<br /> If you stretch the ex bellows out the holes seem to get bigger(or rounder).<br /><br /><br />If you have thru the transom exhaust, there is no exhaust bellows.<br /><br />I have a diverter-valve system on mine that allows either thru the transom or thru the drive exhaust at the flick of a switch. It's a little quieter thru the outdrive of course!

Spyder208

Cadet