40 HP Mercury Prop Damaged & Ventalating; low WOT

dwarner80

Recruit
I'm new to boat owning and purchased a 16.5' pontoon w/ a 40 HP Mercury which currently has a bent/cracked fin on the prop. I've noticed several things running this boat around on the first trip:
  1. it ventalates if it's not trimmed almost the whole way down
  2. WOT is ~4900 RPM; the engine's Max RPM is 5500
  3. the engine shudders at < ~1300 RPM (not convinced this is a prop issue, though)

Some other info from the sticky:
  • current prop is aluminum; I believe it's a 11 5/8" x 13p (the sticker on the engine says 13x26 which I can't believe; I think the max I could fit is a 12")
  • WOT was ~4900 at 15.9MPH on the GPS w/ light load (2 people)
  • 2003 40HP Mercury 2-cycle; 2.00 gear ratio
  • 16.5' Pontoon boat; ~1700lbs

Let me know what other info is needed; thanks!

dwarner80

Recruit
Re: 40 HP Mercury Prop Damaged & Ventalating; low WOT

Attached are some pics of the current prop.
2012-07-29 20.35.30.jpg
2012-07-29 20.26.39.jpg
2012-07-29 20.26.21.jpg

Expidia

Commander

Google prop repair or check iboats they may have a link to a prop repair. I've sent mine out two different times. Cost about $28 plus $10 return shipping. Prop comes back looking like new. Takes a week or two.

This might be a good time to invest in a spare prop. This way you have a spare onboard if you hit something. Buy a $10 plastic prop wrench and an extra prop nut and the tab washer too. You need to put about 55 lbs of pressure when you tighten the prop nut. The tab washer has two tabs that you bend up along the flat side of the nut. It also sits on two nibs which precvents it from turning.

If you don't get around 55 lbs (you can buy a cheap torgue wrench at like Harbor Freight or order it online. I bought a cheap one at sears. Or you will be posting back in a thread "I put a new prop on and it spun off???"

This way if you have to send your prop out you have your spare for boating the next few weekends.