Ok, before I start this Merc 70 for the first time.. '89 I believe

Sippen

Seaman
Well I picked up a '69 Starcraft 18' Holiday V. The seller was in the early stage of restoring it. It came with a Mercury 70 (3 cylinder) on the rear end. The VIN reads 0C205789, I'm not sure but I think this would make it an '89 ?
I am a newbie with boating and this is finally my first boat. She's got potential.. (but don't all fat girls).
GAS: Does it auto mix or should I Pre-mix it on my own? I think I read somewhere that this is not the best motor and to somehow bypass the engines "mixer" and shoot it clean with pre-mix. (if it's an '89) Would that be easy?

The fellow who sold it to me said it ran strong the last time he used it. He gave it a tune up on AUG 2010 at his local marina (Compton Marine Service, Coldwater MI). Below is what he had done:
Mercury 70.jpg
So, It's been 2 years since he fired it up.
Any other thoughts before I drop it in the Brute barrel of water,
Much appreciated!

Charlie61

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Ok, before I start this Merc 70 for the first time.. '89 I believe

first thing you need to mix gas , you need a service manual .if setting for two year it need to rebuild water pump and use new gas ,it looks like for tune up was a good one. i could fire after you do the above . it may fire now if the water pump will be bad and may misup something.

carholme

Rear Admiral

That s/n comes up as a model:

10704129D MERCURY 1989 70

Parts Listing:

http://www.crowleymarine.com/mercury-outboard/365.cfm

If you notice, the engine came equipped with oil injection. See the components under Oil Injection Components. You should definitely ask the previous owner if the oil injection was working or if he had disabled it. If he had disabled it then he will tell you that he was pre mixing.

Make sure before you run it.

Gerry

Sippen

Seaman