What to take note of when removing an outboard?

brjohnson2

Cadet
Hi everyone!

I have '77 85hp Johnson I am needing to remove from my '72 Glastron. This is a project boat I got for very cheap. Anyway, I'm very new to the boating world, but am confident I can restore this beauty. First up is getting the motor off the boat, so I can replace the deck and transom.

What should I be taking note of before I remove the motor? I've been reading about how much the smallest details can make the world of difference in performance, so I don't want to mess something up! Any other tips would be greatly appreciated too.

robert graham

Admiral
Re: What to take note of when removing an outboard?

Check the weight of the motor, how you're gonna lift it, and where you're gonna set it down(like an outboard motor stand). Could take some photos of boat, motor, etc. before getting started. Good Luck!

BonairII

Commander

Not sure what you mean by "What should I take not of". Taking the motor off the boat won't change any "settings" on the motor. Just detach the controls, fuel line, etc and lift it off. Use the "lifting eye" on the motor...don't lift by wrapping chain/rope on the flywheel etc.

Use a chain hoist or "come along".

brjohnson2

Cadet

I've read that the motor weighs in around 200lbs, and was planning on using this plan to build a motor stand: http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=266570 I do have to make it a little taller to accommodate the height of the motor.

I am planning on taking photos and keeping in my "project book of knowledge"! :)

brjohnson2

Cadet

I guess I'm wondering if there are any measurements I should record, or not which bolt holes are used, or anything else! The way you make it sound, taking the motor off is easier than I am making it out to be!

BonairII can you describe what a "lifting eye" would look like? I was just planning on having a buddy help me lift it the boat and onto the stand. Do you think that would work?

BonairII

Commander