Audio warning drove me nuts yesterday?!?

JoJoBetsy

Seaman
Hello all,<br /><br />Newbie here so if something absolutely idiotic...you know. ;) <br /><br />New to the I/O experience but fairly adept at reading the manual and making the right things progress. Anyhow, I have [by visual inspection only] a '00 Merc 5.7 Thunderbolt V w/2bbl carb. The serial number is VL12019MH. It has an Alpha Gen II outdrive. <br /><br />Since doing the summerization seen on the forums here I have had the boat out four times without any problems...save for not putting the plug in the first time, doh! :p <br /><br />I went out yesterday and the ignition audio warn came on as usual but would not turn off. After the usual 10 sec or so run, the sound became muffled but persisted. All the guages were in the normal ranges and when I lifted the hatch the engine was warm, definately not overheated. We have a large no-wake zone so I idled out of it, approx. 10 min. or so and the audio was still on. Engine and guages were still as above. <br /><br />I throttled her up and at about 3000 rpm the audio quit and didn't come back on...until I powered her off and started up again. From that point the audio stayed on and I was at least 30 minutes from the dock so, without any indication of overheating I disconnected the audio warning for the trip back in. <br /><br />Two questions: <br /><br />What is the audio warning warn for, i.e. overheat, prop in the water, no water flow, etc?<br /><br />As a side question, what is the HP rating of the MH designated Merc 5.7s? <br /><br />My Seloc manual for the Merc comes up short on this subject stating that there may be a problem with the brown/blue wire going to the engine but nothing else. <br /><br />Thanks a bunch for helping out and hope everyone's boating season is fun and safe.

Doug Durako

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Audio warning drove me nuts yesterday?!?