Baby on the way!! How is this going to effect my boating

Ciscovet

Seaman
Hey guys,
The title is pretty much self explanatory. I'm pretty new to boating so I have been spending a lot of time on my boat. I never grew up with boats and since the end of last year I have been on the water. Of course now I want an bigger boat as noted in another post. The truth is that this will be my first one and will be here at the end of November. Now I am spending a lot of time wondering if i will be able to afford my boat and if I will even be able to go out boating. How have others handled balancing their home life with boating? I am 37yrs old and have a busy steady job to go to. My fiance decided it was a great idea to start up a franchise consignment clothing store which will be opening soon.:eek:

Any advise would be great. Thanks fellow boaters.

Thales14

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Baby on the way!! How is this going to effect my boating

Congratulations on your new baby.
I'm new to boating myself, and everyone's circumstances are different, but for what it's worth....
I suspect your boating activity will be impacted the first year, but if your finances can stand it, it will be a nice gift to allow your kids to have the opportunity to grow up around boating.
It's fortunate that you already have one, cause it would be harder to pull the trigger to buy one for the first time after you child is born - just too much else going on.
Congratulations again.

ricohman

Lieutenant Commander

You sacrifice a lot when kids are small. I had to cut my cycling, running, motorcycling, boating and many other things waaaay back.
A baby changes your life. How you adapt your life to the baby to make your wife and yourself happy is the key.

southkogs

Staff member

Congratulations Ciscovet!! Kids do change your life completely - though, I think it's ultimately for the better.