5.7 Mercruiser Hydrolocking

JKlowry

Cadet
Hey guys, it's been a while since I was here but need some help. I have searched for a month and not had any luck with my problem. I have owned this 1999 5.7 Mercruiser for 7 years and had no issues other than a starter two years ago. Four weeks ago on a two day camping trip, my boat failed to start on the second day. I assumed it was the starter again, no big issue. I took the starter off to find that there was nothing wrong with the starter. I am not a boat mechanic but to have a pretty broad knowledge of engines and have built several. With no starter problems I tried turning over engine with no luck so I pulled all of the plugs and cranked. The #7 cylinder was full of water and #5 looked like it may have spit a little spray. I have never had a miss from the engine and its never been hot, oil pressure runs about 40. Anyway, I pulled the manifold and gasket off since that seemed to be the most common problem. Everything looked good and I filled the riser up with acetone as I had read and replaced the gaskets. I also did a compression test on all cylinders on the left bank. There were a couple lower than I would like to see but were around 100, definitely not the source of my water.So, I changed the riser gasket and put it all back together. I checked oil and no sign of water in the pan. So, I fired it up with muffs and let it run. I even let the muffs run without the engine on to see if it filled a cylinder. Nothing. So, back to the water we went. I have three kids that ski and wakeboard so it gets alot of start and stop on the water. We had perfect trips for three weeks, usually two days per weekend. Yesterday, after boating all day Saturday and half of the day yesterday, it hydrolocked again. This time, there was water on both banks of the engine. I blew all of the water out and it fired up and ran perfectly..... I am at a loss. How is water getting in both sides? It is running perfectly. I have avoided quick stops(whi