super seahorse RXL-11A

Hello,
I'm new to outboards but know my way around engines. I brought home my fathers 1960 areocraft boat and 2 motors. the 28 hp motor has spark at the top cylinder but no spark at the lower one. not sure where to start. the motor ran about 4 years ago.
I also hace a 5.5 hp cd-18 s. that runs but is not pumping out water
thanks

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: super seahorse RXL-11A

That 28HP motor should be a big twin with two independent ign systems, similar to a 70s lawnmotor. First see if the spark plug leads are shorted to the flywheel. Are the points clean and gapped properly? if so, maybe the condenser or coil went bad. Look for cracks in the coils. Condensers are just replaced. Look for point wires shorting to ground.

I'm down to the flywheel. I see I need a puller to bolt to the 1/4-20 bolt holes. Is that it to get to the ignition goods?
thanks for the help

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner

Get grade 8 bolts

May be as simple as dressing the points, cleaning and re gapping.

Regarding the CD, drop the gearcase and inspect the impeller.

lindy46

Captain

If you have no spark on the bottom cylinder, try disconnecting the wires from the center of the cut-out switch and see what happens. Could be a faulty switch. The cut-out switch kills the lower cylinder during a runaway situation when operating properly. I've seen them stick and cause your problem.

On the 5.5hp, unfortunately you have to remove the powerhead to drop the lower unit on those motors. The shift rod linkage sits underneath and must be disconnected in order to drop the lower. Pretty easy to remove the powerhead - it is held on by 7 bolts. Just remove the bolts, disconnect the fuel hose to the carb and disconnect the throttle linkage, and she should come right off.