Looking for some insight on a '86 Yamaha 90hp

70smithy

Cadet
Just looking for some insight. I am looking at upgrading my 1975 Johnson 70 with a 1986 Yamaha 90hp.

The guy has been working on Yamaha OB's for years and says he replaced the lower unit on this motor due to heavy corrosion but the power head is in good condition with great compression (145 psi on all cyl.) I don't have a model number at this time but hope to look at the motor today/tomorrow. He's asking $1400 and seems firm on the price.

Is this in line with what these motors go for? What other pitfalls should I look to avoid in dealing with this make?

Thank you

renegade15

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Looking for some insight on a '86 Yamaha 90hp

I'm also new to yamaha, oddly enough replaced an '88 evinrude 60 that replaced a '90 johnson 70 just last year. Got a great deal on a '06 yamaha 50. The lower unit seemed to be the thing to look out for when I asked a yamaha mechanic that is my friend's brother. He suggested a lower unit pressure test if the seller will allow it to be brought to a mechanic. My seller hooked it up to my truck with a small deposit and said go for it! While it was there he did a compression test and checked inside each of the cylinders with a scope. Might see if you can find a shop in your area that is not swamped to take a look at it? And if you suggest to the seller you want someone to take a look at it and there is resistance, then I'd be asking myself why? Anything I've ever sold I am open to a mechanic check out...Good luck!

robert graham

Admiral

Since the guy replaced the lower unit "due to heavy corrosion", maybe it's a saltwater motor and has other corrosion issues? A 26 year old motor for $1400 just seems a bit high to me. I bought a Yamaha 90C new in 1999 and it's been running trouble free so far, so I believe they are darn good motors. I'd be looking for a younger, freshwater motor. Good Luck!:)

shackle101

Petty Officer 2nd Class