"Blown" 1983 Mariner 150 XR-2 Marathon Magnum V-6

Chieftain

Recruit
I have a very loud knocking sound coming from my motor. Happened suddenly. Motor restarted and was able to idle for 5 minutes back to dock.

Due to the expense of professional repairs and the lack of money for this repair, I am going to try to fix it myself. I have some experience with motors, but should be considered inexperienced with internal type repairs. I have isolated the cylinder by holding my thumb over the spark plug ports. Once cylinder has no compression that I can feel.

Assuming it is a broken/bent rod, rings, etc., what would most likely cause this to happen. I premix my fuel, use the best oil and additives I can, and I take care not to run the motor harder then I need to for the fishing I do. Bought this boat for almost nothing and the motor has always run well for me.

I will post more after taking the head off tonight to see what I can find out.
Thanks for any help and advice. Great forum from what I have read so far.
Chieftain

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: "Blown" 1983 Mariner 150 XR-2 Marathon Magnum V-6

Chief, Normally the cause for ring failure is lean running or overheating. Knocking could indicate something else. Let us know what you find and post some pics....

Chieftain

Recruit

Chris,
The #2 piston was a mess. All the others looked ok so far. I took both heads off when I saw the port side. Figured if I was going to buy a gasket set, I might as well check everything so I can avoid doing this all over again. I will try to attach pics so you can see what I am dealing with.

I ordered the manual for this motor and I am hoping it gets here today, but I don't expect it will. I am not totally sure about my next step as far as removing the front of the block (don't know the technical term), so that I can get at the rods to release that piston.