90 hp ignition system diagnosis...inline six switch box.

livinthedream

Recruit
O.K. fellas maybe someone can give me some help, but first a little backround info....I have a project 20 ft. penn yan that I have just about ready for the water. It has an inline six cylinder mercury 90 hp on it, I had a missing spark issue last season and narrowed it down to the switch box, which I replaced and it ran fine most of the season it got a little cranky towards the end so I just pulled it for the season. I rebuilt all three carburators this season and changed the water pump out and changed the lower gear oil and assumed I was ready to go.....aaaah nah! Same condition as last year missing spark on number 2, 5 and number three cylinder has intermitent spark....I know it's probrably the switch box again , but I think something must be the root cause of all this....as for me I am a former ase certified car and truck mechanic so I am pretty good at 12 volt electrical systems, I am new to this two stroke marine world lol...o.k. here's my question? Can you diag the ignition componants with a DVA the same way as with a cars system....ohm readings and such. Thanks for any info that you have to share...P.S. I have a maual for mercury , but I do not think its the right one...does have inline six info in it though...Thanks again people.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: 90 hp ignition system diagnosis...inline six switch box.

Inline six motors used a couple different types of ingitions. One was a single switchbox, a single coil and a distributor. The other ign system was dual switchboxes, triple triggers and six coils. If you have the distributor ign, and have no spark to a couple of cylinders, it is likely the cap or wires. Rotors are not removeable and quite fragile.