87 ski centurion

nayr_one

Recruit
i have recently bought a boat its an 87 ski centurion im not to sure what model it looks pretty standard like a trutrac ii but it doesnt have the bulges on the side of the hull. im a seasoned mechanic so the labor is no big deal. I have since found that i need a prop shaft. install looks simple, purchasing the parts not so much. i need to know the prop shaft dimensions as i cant measure mine being that the part that bolts it to the trans has broken fasteners and wont come off and the shaft is going to need to be cut, i dont want to remove it until i have the parts to replace it... the boat drives ok as is but the vibration is going to drive me crazy. if you guys have any info on the size as well as a reputable place to buy one that would be great. Im also going to replace the prop and all the hardware so if there is a place that sells a kit that would be nice.

salty87

Commander
Re: 87 ski centurion

very few tournament inboard owners on this site. you'll get better answers at wakeworld, wakeboarder or there may even be a centurion owner's site. i've got an 87 inboard too...supra.

usually, the shaft and coupler are sold together as a matched set. i've had to cut a shaft to remove it, not a fun time. the shaft can get lodged in the coupler really tight. but, you should be able to get the coupler off the transmission. if not...ouch. that's a big problem. if you can get the coupler off, you might just need to align the engine. the engine mounts allow you to move each corner independently so that things line up. with the coupler separated from the transmission, the coupler and transmission plate should line up within .002 tolerance on all sides...going from memory on that number.