got me a project...newb need some help..with my engine

dloveb

Petty Officer 2nd Class
ok i got 1983 four winns 20 ft cabin cruiser..im very excited ,,the boat is in absolutley excellent shape..i picked it up last night....ill be posting pics later today...ive got to go back and pick up the motors..it had a 305 mercruiser in it..the guy i got it from was upgrading to a 350...he has the motors on the ground..side by side..the guy that was building the motors had a tragic accident and past..so i got the boat from his family..so i dont know if the block is a marine block or what..the 305 is..its the original motor..it seems he has taken the crank from the 305 and put it in the 350..the 305 is tore apart..only thing left is basically heads and block intact...so i dont know exactly where to start ..im a mechanic and have built a few motors..but not for boats...i know the blocks are origin from a 010 chevy truck block...dont think he replacxed the cam from the 305 or the timing chain..doesnt a boat motor and car motor rotate the opposite direction...boat engines rotate left right???????

so anyways i pick up the motors this weekend...all the parts from the 305 are there..manifolds etc...so i do have the parts i need to exhange to the other block...the 350..has everything almost ready on it marine oil pan from 305..flywheel..but i need to know where i should start....?????should i tear the 350 back down and start over on it just to make sure everything is marine ready or what...freeze plugs ..marine gaskets..etc...i know the boats going to run higher rpms longer than in a car...
just want to do it all right first time round..and not put all my work into changing out the engine again.plzzzzzz.....plzzzzz

ADVICE WILL BE HELPFUL....I KNOW U ALL CAN STEER ME INTO THE RIGHT DIRECTION...EAGER TO GET THE BOAT OUT THIS SEASON...HOPEFULLY...

dloveb

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: got me a project...newb need some help..with my engine