Good GPS to find property lines

dolluper

Captain
Well I have to locate some property lines in some real deep bush......150 acres in some marsh like conditions
So nothing fancy needed just something that would work on calculated corindates hand held with some battery life ..since I'm walking a few miles through some thick ST......nice spelling eh lol's
Any cheapo suggestions.....thanks

coolbri70

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Good GPS to find property lines

i was a land surveyor prior to the depression, had to take some classes, any cheap gps is only going to get you within several meters, the gps we use surveying has to be tied into static points, we take 3 static units set them up over points on the ground mark the time of day and let them run so as they have all run together for an hour at least, then we send off for true coordinates from the government during that time span as they move them around so they can't be used against us by other countries military, we have to rotate in true coordinates to our points on the ground, then when we stake property lines we have to set a base station on one of the points only then can we take a gps rover unit to one of the other ground points to lock in , and then check in to the other ground point before staking any lines accuratly i would not build any fences or take any expensive trees out based on lines staked any other way, we did use a hand held to find the job site a garmin i believe

dolluper

Captain

10 feet off would be fine with me ....close on that size would work......just want a good idea where the lines are aproximents fine as right now the locals are trying to snow me by 1200 feet I.m sure

tx1961whaler

Vice Admiral

Any old handheld will get you within 3 feet these days. Even better the more satellites you get and if you get a WAAS signal. I have both a Garmin and Delorme.

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member