cant get outdrive in gear for removal

ssminno0w

Seaman Apprentice
i just bought 1986 seasprite with 140 mercruiser alpha1 gen 1. im trying to do maintenance but cant get outdrive to go into gear to remove outdrive. ive read alot of posts but im new to i/o so not sure of some of the terms have seloc manual but besides basic info its lacking dtails to troubleshoot my particular setup.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: cant get outdrive in gear for removal

Just drop the lower unit first, then pull the upper. Without the lower it doesn't matter what gear you are in.

Might want to drain the gear lube first.

stonyloam

Vice Admiral

To elaborate a little on Don's post: The reason it needs to be in forward is that the top of the intermediate shift shaft (in your gearhousing {lower}) slides into the coupler at the bottom of the upper shift shaft located in the bellhousing (which stays on the boat). Both the i ss and u ss need to be pointed straight ahead to slide apart. If you are in any gear other than forward the coupler and shaft are turned counterclockwise and will not slide apart without damaging the shafts. When you drop the gearhousing the i ss simply drops out of the bottom of the u ss and then the driveshaft housing (upper) can be pulled with no problem. Sometimes it helps to know why you are doing something when you are new at this. Good luck.

ktbarrentine

Lieutenant

i just bought 1986 seasprite with 140 mercruiser alpha1 gen 1. im trying to do maintenance but cant get outdrive to go into gear to remove outdrive. ive read alot of posts but im new to i/o so not sure of some of the terms have seloc manual but besides basic info its lacking dtails to troubleshoot my particular setup.