Removal/Install Alpha 1, Generation II outdrive

Todd4n

Cadet
I just had a new outdrive installed by a Mercruiser dealer a few months ago. I am new to boating and it?s been rough start (probably because I don?t have a name yet, I should call it breaking it in). First I forgot to put the thrust washer on with the prop and ran it for about 30 minutes hoping the clunking noise would go away then I pulled it out of the water and figure out what was going. No noticeable damage was done. Next time out I hit something at low speed and had some minor dings on my stainless steel prop. I once again pulled the boat out and measured the radial runout with a dial indicator on the prop shaft. It once again appeared to be okay. After my 10 hour break in period I drained/refilled the gear oil and everything looked normal (minimal metal shavings on the drain screw, no milky oil).

Now for my next problem. Only nn full turns doing about 10 mph there is a significant vibration and I am wondering what it is? and how to fix it? My research came up with either the gimbal bearing or the u joints. I am assuming the u joints were new from the installing a new mercruiser outdrive so I would like to count them out. I am leaning towards the gimbal bearing.

I have never taken a outdrive off before.
Since it is fairly new is there any seals or gaskets that I should replace or is there no need since it is only a few months old?

I have a service manual and I have watched several videos however it usually leaves out the part where the seals/o-ring/gaskets should be replaced and when they should be replaced.

Any suggestion or input would be appreciated.

MarkSee

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Removal/Install Alpha 1, Generation II outdrive

Welcome Aboard!

Are you reading Merc service manual 14 or something else?