Trolling Motor Keeps Blowing Fuse

Status
Not open for further replies.

capeters

Cadet
Let me begin by saying I am a total newbie to boat ownership and electrical work. So, if you have any advice you could give me, it will be greatly appreciated (but please dumb it down for me)!

The problem:
I took my fish/ski combo out for a day of fishing. I had been using the trolling motor for 3 or 4 hours with no problems. All of a sudden, the trolling motor stops working. I knew enough, just from reading this forum, that one of the first things i should do is check the fuse. The fuse was blown. I took the trolling motor out of the water and up onto the deck, and then I replaced the fuse. I ran the trolling motor, while it was still on the deck of the boat, out of the water, and it ran perfectly. I dropped the trolling motor back into the water, attempted to use it, but it stopped working again. I checked the fuse........again it was blown.

What could be causing this? Like I said, I am a newbie to boats and things electrical, so take it easy on me please!

thanks for your help.

Craig

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member
Re: Trolling Motor Keeps Blowing Fuse

the motor could have issues.

does the motor turn easy by hand? or does it have a great bit of resistance?

My father's trolling motor would do that a few years ago. it would run great in air (no load), however as soon as it hit the water it would blow the fuse. took it apart and everything was corroded. turns out the trolling motor got submerged when he left it in the boat with the plug it in. he thought the whole unit was sealed. not much to do but replace the whole thing.

not saying this is your problem, however there is potential that your motor could have had a leaky seal, etc.

capeters

Cadet