my new to me evinrude

plyxrs

Petty Officer 3rd Class
alright gave the guy $40 for this today, he had on his pontoon and its been in the barn going on 6 years, well anyways he had this and a johnson and well i chose this one, its electric start and pull start, came with the throttle and gear changer lever lol sorry im new to this whole boating seen, anyways the motor pulls perfect no problem, has great compression, cleaned it up and everything, now i figured out how to hook the cable to the transmisson to change from reverse to forward and neutral, now can anyone tell me how to hook the steering and throttle up? and also i need a new throttle cable where would i get one? i dont know the year of this, all i know is its 18hp, evinrude, and says fastwinn? on it. well heres pics, please give me as much info as possible, also i have the serial number if that would help? idk if its smart to post that or not. well thankyou all in advance!

IMG_20120524_174805.jpg

IMG_20120524_180052.jpg

IMG_20120524_174320.jpg

IMG_20120524_174348.jpg

IMG_20120524_174355.jpg

IMG_20120524_174821.jpg

Cap'n Chaos

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: my new to me evinrude

The cowling and fuel pump look 1960 something... 1962 maybe?

I'm sure someone can tell you exactly... post the model number and we can tell you for sure. The little quarter sized plug (silver colored) by the fuel pump will tell you what you need to know.

plyxrs

Petty Officer 3rd Class

I'm sure someone can tell you exactly... post the model number and we can tell you for sure. The little quarter sized plug (silver colored) by the fuel pump will tell you what you need to know.

my guess is its a 63 because the last 4 of serial are, 6212, and this thing?
IMG_20120524_174440.jpg

Cap'n Chaos

Petty Officer 1st Class

18502 is a 1965 18HP

18202 is a 1972 18HP (what I have)

Great motors.

If you need help getting it going just ask. Plenty of folks here can help you get her going.

plyxrs

Petty Officer 3rd Class