difference between blue and black

canter6

Cadet
Hi,
ive been lurking on the forum for a week or so reading back, and just signed up a day or two ago.

Iran across in another thread some discussion of blue vrs black coil packs, where someone stated blue wouldnt work with black or something to that effect.

Im new to outboard engines and was wondering if anyone could explain this.

********************************************************************************
Reason i ask, is i just bought an 88 force 125 with 3 black coil packs and one blue, and going to dig into it this weekend to trouble shoot it and see if i cant get if running (starter turns but engine wont fire, havent gotten into it yet to diagnose if fueling, or spark issue just yet, doing that on the long weekend ahead)

also if anyone has a link to a good write up to trouble shoot the electronics id be much appreciative of it. (what wires to test for what readings etc)

I have a digital copy of a manual coming to me that i "assume" should have this info.

I have what id like to call a decent knowledge of engines and their inner workings, however its limited to automobiles, no experience in 2 stroke.

Thanks
Canter

canter6

Cadet
Re: difference between blue and black

jkoppe,

Thanks for the link!!
much appreciated,

ill update the thread as i go along, there's a great wealth of knowledge here from reading back.

Jiggz

Captain

I've got an 88-125 Force and all the CD's are blue in color and still original. However, I believe the only difference between the blue and black is the wire colors and connectors. In your case, it looks like they've tried using either or by modifying the connectors which can also be done. You can check which CD is the original by looking on the connections to see if which ones have been modified.

shytownborn

Petty Officer 2nd Class