Suggestions on how to reduce my boat from "sharking" at slow speeds

rob5

Recruit
Good morning, iBoats forum. I'm a new new member and I'm very glad I've found this resource. This is my first time posting so please don't beat me up too bad if I say something ignorant...:D

Here's my issue - I have a small 18' sterndriven bowrider and at slow speeds it "sharks" back and forth considerably (I'm not sure if that's a real term, but that's about the best name I've heard which describes this effect). I can compensate with a fun little rhythmic steering maneuver, but this gets old very quickly (and thank heaven for power steering)... I've also tried different approaching speeds from plane to idle with no noticeable improvement.

Am I doing something grossly wrong or does this have to do with the hull design? Any suggestions on how I can prevent or reduce this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time and have a great day,
Rob

etracer68

Ensign
Re: Suggestions on how to reduce my boat from "sharking" at slow speeds

Most deep v hulls "wonder" at low ( under 10mph ) speeds, but shouldnt at mid to planing speeds.

BoatDrinksQ5

Petty Officer 1st Class

Mine also does that - (new to sterndrive) and noticed if i trim up high it helps a bit.

Also if you just "let go....use the force"....don't steer - let it 'wander' you'll find it usually is a cycle and you end up pretty much going straight!

rob5

Recruit

Mine also does that - (new to sterndrive) and noticed if i trim up high it helps a bit.

Also if you just "let go....use the force"....don't steer - let it 'wander' you'll find it usually is a cycle and you end up pretty much going straight!

Excellent... Thanks BoatdrinksQ5, I'll try that.

jdlough

Master Chief Petty Officer

Nauticus Smart Tabs help this (and other things).

Kinda like the fletching on arrows keeps them going straight.

nlain

Commander