Fish OR Cruise Model??

clayshooter555

Recruit
A Newbie here trying to narrow things down....so many types of pontoons! We will be cruising 60% of the time in a 10hkp restricted lake. Can you comfortably fish in a 16 or 18 foot cruising model that has the curved seats up front?

Or is it just so much more comfortable to have the individual fishing seats? And how isolated are these fishing seats from everyone else when you are just cruising? Too hard to carry on a conversation with the folks in the back bench seats?

Are fishing models just for the hard core anglers?

Would love some input from those who have each model as to the pros and cons. At these prices don't want to make a mistake :)

lncoop

Vice Admiral
Re: Fish OR Cruise Model??

I had an eighteen foot fish and cruise setup several years ago. It was a great little boat and very comfortable provided there weren't more than five people on it. It wasn't a safety issue, just a matter of bumping into each other while we were moving around. I sold it and bought a bigger barge because the admiral insisted it was too small for our needs. The fishing seats were really neat, but they didn't mitigate the space issue because they were outside the play pen, which meant they were off limits any time we were underway, and fishing from the couches is doable depending on the kind of fishing you envision, but it's less than ideal. If you really do plan on fishing from it forty percent of the time I'd suggest looking for a layout that has fishing seats up front but extends the play pen all the way to the front of the deck; that way passengers can occupy the fishing seats while you're underway. And to the isolation question; that won't be an issue on a sixteen to eighteen foot barge regardless of the floor plan. Welcome aboard.:cool:

EricJRW

Chief Petty Officer