Few questions about 1988 206 captiva

I just bought a 206 captiva from a co-worker. It has fairly low hours and the interior is in good shape. I can't seem to find any information anywhere online about this boat. I's got the 4.3 l in it and it's an open bow. I am currently replaced the bellows and u-joints for the drive since they were ripped. I have quite a few questions and hope someone knows.
1. Whats the weight of the boat?
2 What are some common problems associated with this boat
3 It needs a prop, whats a good prop for skiing, tubing and planing not very concerned with top speed
4 The exhaust bellow is ripped. I have heard i can leave this disconnected? Is this true?
5 I waxed the whole thing but what are some things to check for? I am new to boats been a car/motorcycle guy only all my life.

Much thanks!!

truckermatt

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Few questions about 1988 206 captiva

1. take the boat to a truck stop and weigh it. Then you will know that actual weight, Not some forums users guess.
2. All boat have some problems, Remember this thing is 24 years old so by now it just depends on how it was maintained?
3. What is wrong with the current prop? Did the PO hit something? was it stolen? If the prop hit rocks hard enough there good be internal drive damage.
4. You want all bellows to be rip free, unless you want water entering the boat.

Did you test drive the boat yet? why did the co-worker sell.?

Bondo

Staff member

I just bought a 206 captiva from a co-worker. It has fairly low hours and the interior is in good shape. I can't seem to find any information anywhere online about this boat. I's got the 4.3 l in it and it's an open bow. I am currently replaced the bellows and u-joints for the drive since they were ripped. I have quite a few questions and hope someone knows.
1. Whats the weight of the boat?
2 What are some common problems associated with this boat