4.3l Mercruiser cold starting problems (HELP)

Rhinodecals

Cadet
I have seen a number of posts on this problem and thought I would post anyway. I just did a Carb Kit rebuild today it will start up the run for 10 to 15 sec. then die. I am new to the boat world worked on a lot of car engines in my passed. It has been an long time scents I did a rebuild and not sure if I got choke arm in the correct positions. When the boat is in the not running the butterfly level should be in the close positions on the carb is that correct. I got it running this afternoon and came back about 4 hours later and it started doing the same thing again. gave up because it got dark and I was about to hit my head on something!

achris

More fish than mountain goat
Re: 4.3l Mercruiser cold starting problems (HELP)

Welcome to iBoats....

Can I ask you to read this -> http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=220416 and get back to us with the required information....

The very least we need is...

1. Engine year.. (the 4.3 litre engine's been used by Merc since 1985, so there are about 20 variations)
2. Heat riser choke or electric?
3. Weber, Rochester or Mercarb carburetor?
4. 2 barrel or 4?
5. Electric fuel pump or mechanical?

Chris.......

Rhinodecals

Cadet

1. Engine year 1998
2.electric choke
3. Mercarb carburetor
4. 2 barrel
5. Electric fuel pump

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Sounds like a faulty oil pressure switch or wiring to the sender that controls the fuel pump. The oil press switch provides power to the fuel pump so it doesn't run when the engine is not running.
This wiring diagram should help.

Merc fuel pump wiring.jpg

Rhinodecals

Cadet

Ok how do I test the oil pressure switch? Also I unplugs the fuel pump and pumped the bowl dry on the carb then turned the key on to see if the pump pumped gas back into the bowl. And there was gas back in there.